White House

The White House is widely recognized as the official residence and workplace of the President of the United States, and is an iconic symbol of the U.S. government. Located in Washington, D.C., this historic building has a rich history dating back to its construction in the late 18th century and was designed in a neoclassical style. The White House features a distinctive facade made of white-painted sandstone, which gives the building its name. The complex comprises the main residence, West Wing, and East Wing, each serving different functions. While the main residence is where the President and their family live, the West Wing houses the offices of the President’s senior staff and advisors, with the East Wing containing ceremonial rooms and the First Lady’s offices.

Difference 101