NATO meaning: North Atlantic Treaty Organization. It is basically an intergovernmental military alliance with its substratum on the North Atlantic Treaty. This organization was founded on 4th April 1949, almost 4 years after the conclusion of World War II. The headquarters of NATO are in Belgium and Brussels. English and French are the official languages allowed by it. The NATO council is based upon a report submitted by five committees: the Committee on the Civil Dimension of Security, the Economic and Security Committee, the Defense and Security Committee, the Political Committee, and the Science and Technology Committee. The main purpose of NATO is to maintain peace in the Atlantic region.

Difference 101